Return of Sunday! Sunday! Sunday!

Out near El Malpais National Monument on a shoot for the Adventure Cycling Association.
Out near El Malpais National Monument on a shoot for the Adventure Cycling Association.

The New Mexico Touring Society, New Mexico Bicyclist Educators and the Adventure Cycling Association are throwing a hoedown on Sunday at Balloon Fiesta Park, right here in Duke City, to celebrate the new Bicycle Route 66 with presentations and speechifying, New Mexican grub and (of course) a bit of cycling.

In honor of the ACA’s visit to my little ciudad, I have been empowered to arrange a number of free six-month trial memberships to the beautiful and talented people who follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, or lurk around this blog waiting for me to pull my thumb out and get caustic, funny or both.

Members get discounts on maps, access to special organized tours, and Adventure Cyclist magazine, wherein one may discover glistening pearls of wisdom from cycling authorities who are not me. But I’m in there too.

Click the link and saddle up. See you on the road.

12 thoughts on “Return of Sunday! Sunday! Sunday!

  1. Top of the morning to you.
    It is a great organization. The magazine alone is worth the price of membership. I wish I could have made it for the ride.

    1. BTW, Patrick, whats the weather supposed to be like tomorrow in the Duke City? Do we need cool weather gear? 9mm hi capacity? Beer?

    2. The weather seems unsettled, K. It’s been right around freezing the past couple mornings — 32 here right now — and NWS is calling for a slight chance of thunderstorms/showers over the next couple of days, with a high of 69 on Sunday.

      Couldn’t hurt to fetch the foul-weather gear along. Maybe a few hand grenades. The drivers seem equally unsettled lately, and when they rain on your parade, it really stings.

  2. Hope you have good weather and a good ride/program. I’m already a member of Adventure Cycling for many years. I think of it as like we used to think of the Sears “Wish Book.” Fun to dream. BTW, I may have news about my new touring bike soon. Stay posted. It’s been a long, winding road since December when I set out to make a purchase.

    1. Oh Boy, a new bike. Rides home from the shop on a new bike are the bestest. Our riding buddy, Deb, just got a Disc Long Hual Trucker last week. She is still smiling.

Leave a comment