Soggy Dog

wet-stones

One of the many puddles surrounding Chez Dog. If I can just figure out a way to link them up, we’ll have a moat.

Nobody who lives in an alpine desert should ever complain about rain.

That said, fuck this noise. Seriously. I left Oregon for a reason, and this is it. Rain alla goddamn time. I thought I’d spilled some salad in my lap the other day, but it turned out to be moss growing on my … well, the less said about that, the better.

The tipoff? No olive oil. And the cucumber wasn’t peeled and sliced.

In unrelated news, the exodus proceeds, albeit at a snail’s pace. Herself bid farewell to her old job yesterday and leaves for Duke City tomorrow. She will be our LURP whilst I remain (as per usual) a REMF, puttering around behind the lines, telling bullshit war stories everyone’s already heard a thousand times, and mostly getting in the way.

We haven’t found new quarters yet, but we’re talking loan with a banker recommended by longtime Friend of the DogS(h)ite Khal Spencer (a thousand thank-yous, K). What with loan applications and new-job paperwork to process it’s a hell of a time to have had to surrender “our” multifunction printer to Herself’s former employer, and so I’m hunting a new one in my spare time, of which there is none.

Anyone have a recommendation for a reasonably priced, compact, all-in-one, print/fax/scan combo device? I haven’t had to buy one in years and am completely off the back, tech-wise. Sound off in comments, please. And thank you.

Tags: , , ,

14 Responses to “Soggy Dog”

  1. matlinp Says:

    Having recently been in the market for one of those thingies myself, might I recommend the Epson WF-3640 (as opposed to the WtF model!). Haven’t had a chance to use it much (it’s my wife’s), but it got good reviews, has two paper trays, holds an entire ream of paper, and can be used wirelessly so placement is not critical.

  2. Pat O'Brien Says:

    We have an Epson XP-400 ink jet. I would NOT buy another because of paper feeding issues. We are looking for a replacement. Other than that, I can’t help out right now.

    I was going to ride up Ramsey Canyon today, but got rained out. I will not complain though. I am trying to send some of it to Yosemite and the LA basin.

    The lap salad gag was too funny. But the “peeled and sliced” comment made me cross my legs while reading the rest of the post.

    Yea, Khal!

  3. Neal Says:

    I have a Brother machine that’s more than a few years old, but scans, prints, faxes and copies. Plus it’s black only toner cartridge lasts and lasts before requiring replacement.

  4. John Dallager Says:

    We went w/the Epson WF3520……..works great and so far is maintenance free.

  5. Patrick O'Grady Says:

    Thanks, all. This used to be a no-brainer: I always went HP, until they started spying on journalists. I’ve had good luck with Epson scanners, though one of their early digital cameras froze solid on me at the 1997 cyclo-cross nationals.

    The one that went back to the former employer was a Brother. It gave us some trouble early on, but settled down eventually. It wouldn’t permit AirPrint, though, so sooner or later we would have been shopping for a replacement. Sooner, as it turns out.

  6. Jeff in Big D, formerly jeffinpetrometro Says:

    I have an Epson color printer/copier/scanner that you can have. Gratis. Victim of combining two households. I’ve had exactly 0 problems with it. It’s color, and I have extra color cartridges.

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Hey, Jeff … thank you for the most generous offer. I’d have jumped at it, but we needed one ASAP so Herself could print out a metric shit-ton of paperwork, so I had to leap before looking, as it were.

  7. Jeff in Big D, formerly jeffinpetrometro Says:

    Forgot to ask: Do you still have any of the red and black Mad Dog Media jerseys in a small? I lost a bit of weight, and I’ve out shrunk mine.

  8. Larry T. Says:

    FAX? Really? We have a Civil War era one of those here in the office but for all that other stuff we have a Canon MG6220 which they no longer produce I’m sure. I like the CANON stuff because for me it’s intuitive, not too hard to figure out how to do what you want. What I HATE and this is probably true of all of these things, is the damn ink cartridges cost more per set than the whole damn unit! And they don’t seem to be refillable by those outfits that inject new ink into the old cartridge, unlike other brands. But we buy these Canon’s cheap enough that when they croak or nobody makes the ink cartridges anymore, we’re not crying about a huge expense when they get tossed out. How they work with I-crap I couldn’t tell ya so yer on yer own with that.
    RAIN? I’ll be happy to see July go…seems like every time I got on a bike, whether in Italy or here in Iowa, raindrops fell…a lot of ‘em fell on me today, despite the weather radar showing NOTHING around here when I left the house. When my socks turn black and my feet are soaked, I’m no longer having fun!

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Hah. We have one of those relics too, a Sharp something-or-other from the Nineties that — believe it or not — still works, when we need a fax machine, which we don’t.

      We need one even less now that we croaked the land line, which had become a conduit for telemarketers, beggars and poll-takers. The sound of that thing not ringing is music to our ears.

  9. khal spencer Says:

    Good luck with the folks at the bank, Patrick. My better half just strong armed me into a nice, expensive retirement villa (well, we bid on one,anyway) in The City Indifferent, so Claudia is getting plenty of work.

    So it may be we can swap rides, lies, and beers in a year back and forth on I-25. Or from BombTown to the Albuquerque Express. On the other hand, knowing the two of us, we will keep being pen pals…..

    If Shannon runs into any problems down there, be sure to give us or Ellen Louderbouch a call. We are only a beer away.

  10. Pat O'Brien Says:

    Been doing a little research, and this one is top rated. Guess I need to go look.

    http://www.hp.com/hpinfo/newsroom/press_kits/2011/InnovationforImpact/OJ8600_Series_FeaturesGuide.pdf

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

