Take that, Graham Watson

Sorry, but I couldn't find a peloton to drop behind this lot.

Sorry, but I couldn’t find a peloton to drop behind this lot.

Missing the Tour de France on this second rest day? Me neither. But here are some sunflowers just in case.

Oh, yeah, I'm gonna get her for this.

Oh, yeah, I’m gonna get her for this.

Herself is road-tripping again, leaving me in charge of quarters, a change of management that Mister Boo finds repellent. The bug-eyed little weirdo is accustomed to constant attention from Herself, a.k.a. That Lady Who Gives Me Things, and when I’m down in the weeds doing a job of work he occasionally feels deprived.

I feel his pain, particularly when someone sends me photos of a delicious Aspen breakfast after I’ve just inhaled a dollop of yogurt, an English muffin and a cup of Joe.

We’re not in Albuquerque yet, but we’re inching ever closer. We’ve opened negotiations to turn The House Back Eastâ„¢ into a full-time rental, which would solve some logistical issues with running an Airbnb op’ from six and a half hours south. And in about 10 days Herself will relocate to temporary quarters in Duke City and take up her new gig with a bit of house-hunting on the side.

So Mister Boo has some more tough rows to hoe. And I anticipate further dispatches from The Breakfast Club.

Tags: , , , ,

18 Responses to “Take that, Graham Watson”

  1. Sharon Says:

    That looks like too much food for breakfast, maybe brunch. Love the sunflowers. Plants make people happy. Just around the corner, in August, will start planting the seeds for my fall garden. So excited as it always means fall is coming and will be cooler soon. Easy to get tired of the 100 degree days of July. Even though I get used to riding in the heat, it’s never as fun as October and November.

  2. khal spencer Says:

    Was wondering how you were going to run a B&B in Bibleburg from down in Albuquerque. Good luck in the landlord department, Patrick.

    We are just getting sunflowers blooming here in BombTown, too. Pretty little fellas.

    Tell Herself that if she needs a rest stop two hours north of Duke City, she can feel free to drop by, although we are a little west of the beaten path between hither and yon. Same for yourself. Plus, I imagine if there is a crisis, she can call our friend Ellen over on Richmond St.

    Good luck with the great trek!

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      K, we’re hopeful. Don’t wanna say too much about it now for fear of queering the deal, but at the moment it looks like a win-win deal, something you don’t see any too often.

      I don’t know that we’ll whistle past this time around, but once we have a better idea of what’s what it’ll be time to finally meet in person. August is gonna be a long month, and not just ’cause of the heat.

      At least nobody is bombing us or chucking missiles at us. Jesus, the world is getting crazier by the minute. I’m scared to call up the NYT website anymore.

      • khal spencer Says:

        World is pretty screwed up. Gawd, sometimes I just want to close my eyes, turn off the media links, and pull the covers over my head.

  3. Libby Says:

    Good luck with the packing, house-hunt and pet wrangling.

  4. Steve O Says:

    Business trip to Aspen? Hope She’s getting haz duty pay. Looking at that b’fast plate, the per diem must be four digits.

  5. Libby Says:

    Very nice sunflowers!

  6. Pat O'Brien Says:

    Sending pictures like that to you should be covered under the constitutional provisions preventing cruel and unusual punishment. Looks like sunflowers in the alley.
    Once a slumlord…..But, I assume you will miss some of the interesting characters that Airbnb brought your way, especially Irish musicians and such.
    Well, the O’Grady relocation saga begins, again. I know the feeling, but gave it up in 1989. I have one move left in me, and that will happen when I want to give up taking care of a money pit.

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Yeah, Pat, it was cool meeting all the folks who ambled through The House Back Eastâ„¢. 99.9 percent of them were fine people. I’d do the Airbnb thing again in a heartbeat, and not just for the money.

  7. John Dallager Says:

    Re the Aspen breakfast pic: Nice presentation, but nowhere near the quality and “passion” of POG’s homemade, elegant yet provincial, concoctions! :-)

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Thank you, sir. Tell you what, I am looking forward to living in a town where they know what a combo plate is. Good God awmighty, what they call Mexican food in this burg would break your heart.

  8. Larry T. Says:

    Now that I’m back in the US of A, I think I’ll go down tonight and enjoy some Mexican vittles, though I DID grab a torta and some real guacamole at Rick Bayless’ stand at the Chicago airport on my way “home” yesterday. We might rival you POG in the busy August category as we get all the stuff organized to return to Italia for a year starting in September. A LOT of bureaucratic hoops to jump through along with jetting around to various places in the USA before we blast outta here.

  9. Ray Akamuri Says:

    There’s a house next door to me for sale, off Tramway & Lomas in the South foothills. Belongs to a lady boffin who chose early retirement and layoffs from Kirtland AFB and moved to Nevada for a job. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

