Poultry slam

When a cold comes into the house, you've got to give it the bird.

When a cold comes into the house, you’ve got to give it the bird.

There is catarrh in the house, curse its name.

A terrorist assault on the snotlocker has laid Herself low, and with the Horse of Pestilence thus having escaped her boogered-up beezer barn I am belatedly barring the door to my own by preparing a massive tureen of chicken noodle soup.

Oh, she gets a bowl, too. Just in case you were wondering.

The recipe can be found in “Dad’s Own Cookbook,” by Bob Sloan, and it is the foundation of any number of other meals, among them chicken quesadillas, chicken chilaquiles, and chicken eaten with the fingers straight out of the pot before you make anything other than a big-ass pot of simmered chicken.

And when I say “big-ass,” I do not lie. This sucker starts with a 4.5-pound bird, plus four extra drumsticks, and adds four quarts of water, four carrots, two turnips, a large onion, a leek, a dollop of honey, salt, dill, egg noodles, peas and parsley.

As chicken soups go, this is the equivalent of Rolling Thunder, a culinary carpet-bombing, a real poultry slam. I just hope it’s not too late. Some doughty little bug in green pajamas could be out there right now, pushing his Ah Choo Minh bicycle loaded with deadly bacteria through the triple-canopy jungle of my nose hairs.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Poultry slam”

  1. Debby in Longtucky Says:

    I hope Herself is feeling better soon and you manage to avoid getting it, PO’G. This one is nasty – knocked me flat on my back for a week. I’m just getting back to the land of the living now.

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Debby, glad to hear you’re on the mend. I caught some nasty upper-respiratory bug early last year that flattened me for something like 10 days. I must be getting feeble in my old age. Used to be that if a bug bit me, that bug died a horrible death.

  2. veloben Says:

    “I Love the smell of Nasacort in the morning.” Kilgore.

    Hope you avoid the plague and that Herself is better soon.

  3. larryatcycleitalia Says:

    I got one of these bugs at holiday time with the famiglia in SoCal. For the first time I tried the zinc lozenges and they seemed to both reduce the severity and duration of the thing. I even rode every day!
    But then again, there WAS some chicken broth involved as the wife cooked up a huge batch in Mom’s kitchen to use with the tortellini we’d made. In the CycleItalia kitchen she’ll carve the boobs off a free-range, non fuel-injected bird we get locally, then cook up the legs, thighs and other bits Italian hunter style – one of my all-time favorites. The rest of the boyd then goes into a massive pot along with onions, celery, and other stuff to simmer at least overnight if not for a day or two..making some very tasty BRODO to use in risotto or soups. She says it’s not a proper house unless there’s some homemade broth in the freezer that can be pulled out at a moments notice when needed. No arguments from me!!!

  4. Patrick O'Brien Says:

    Have Herself wash down that chicken soup with a Guinness Stout or two, the old left jab and hard right combination, and the cold bug will vacate the premises tout de suite.

  5. Libby Says:

    Here’s hoping Herself is on the mend and you don’t get ick. That chicken soup should keep the Boogerman away.

  6. khal spencer Says:

    Must be going around. My better half has been going through so much kleenex that I’m thinking of borrowing a truck and heading to Costco to replenish.

    Lacking dead flesh options, our version of comfort food is either hot and sour soup or Lebanese lentil soup. The towelhead version has been sustaining us for the last couple days.

    • md anderson Says:

      When living in Berkeley my go-to nostrum when confronted by a bug was the spicy dahl from a local East Indian place. YMMV

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

