Meanwhile, back at the ranch

Pikes Peak has a dusting of snow, though the 'hood seems clear ... for now.

Pikes Peak has a dusting of snow, though the ‘hood seems clear … for now.

After five hours of drifting along with the tumbling tumbleweeds, I’m back in Bibleburg, where the winds have been knocking down trees, launching trash cans into low-earth orbit and generally annoying the mortal shit out of people. With more of the same on tap today it looks like fine weather for a hike, wearing ski goggles and a respirator.

I felt guilty about giving our old hometown of Santa Fe a miss on the way to Albuquerque, so on the return trip I stopped by Ten Thousand Waves for a much-needed soak and grabbed lunch at La Choza, primo to The Shed. Both places were nuts, it being a federal holiday, and I didn’t get home until 7 p.m. or thereabouts.

Training camp was a qualified success — I added miles, but didn’t subtract any weight, thanks to meals at Scalo Northern Italian Grill, Mary & Tito’s Cafe, Satellite Coffee and Zacatecas Tacos & Tequila.

Speaking of vittles, I don’t expect to be shopping at Reid’s Fine Food in Charlotte when I visit the 2014 North American Handmade Bicycle Show in North Carolina next month. It probably wasn’t smart of cook Drew Swope to lip off to a customer, even a punk-ass bitch like Gov. Pat McCrory — hey, Pat, I’ve got a gourmet snack option for you right here — but it wasn’t exactly brilliant of owner Tom Coker to sack Swope for speaking his mind, either.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Meanwhile, back at the ranch”

  1. khal spencer Says:

    Good food at The Shed. We were there on Saturday, for lunch.

  2. Jon Paulos Says:

    Patrick, sounds like the trip was good. Hope your batteries are recharged and you’re ready for more rounds with the Turk.

    Fired for mouthing off? I read the article. It looks like there was dickitude on all sides. At the heart of it, though, Mr. Swope abused a customer and was fired for it. In my job I deal with our local elected officials, and I think some of them are real morons, but when I’m on the job I have a mission to get across what the company wants put across. You don’t persuade people by calling them names.

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Jon, the Turk’ always misses me the littlest bitty-bit when I leave, because Herself’s lap isn’t big enough to contain his extensive felinity. We had a nice reunion, and he didn’t even try to zap me for five or 10 minutes.

      Meanwhile, Talking Points Memo caught up with Mr. Swope, who said that after he got flip with McCrory, the gov’ started going off on him, and Swope suspects homophobia. He says he doesn’t blame the boss for canning him, adding: “I mean, I would have fired me. I’ve been in the restaurant business for 25 years. I know the rules.”

      It would be interesting to hear what Swope’s former colleagues thought of the encounter. For now, I think a politico is not your typical customer and has to be prepared for unconventional shopping experiences.

      • Jon Paulos Says:

        Just read the follow up at Politico. I like that Swope guy. Understands the basic rule of civil disobedience: break the law if need be, but don’t whine when it comes time to pay the price.

        You point out the other reality of being a public figure: you’re always on public display. The guv sounds like he was out of line, and to a greater degree than Mr. Swope. This is where the store should also step in and fire the customer. Maybe the voters should consider this evidence of the guv’s character and reconsider their decision at the next election.

        I’ve learned the hard way (from my own mistakes, not others’) that you can and should engage with the unhappy constituent, and it’s okay to tell them you disagree, but its not okay to start with the namecalling/labeling/abuse. I have a very difficult time doing that, and this is why you’ll never see me in an elected office. It just isn’t okay to tell someone in that position to fuck off, no matter the provocation.

        When do we get more Turk/Mia/Boo photos?

      • weaksides (@weaksides) Says:

        Hey Jon and Patrick,

        There’s even a bit more to it than all this. Governor Pat used to be Mayor Pat of CLT for seven terms. As mayor he never came across as a wingnut, and I still sort-of doubt that he is fully. That said, he obviously and certainly has to listen most to those that helped get him elected; and there’s plenty evidence of that. So I think Swope was taking a home-town swipe at Gov Pat as much as a general one. After all he’s not the same politico that he used to be.

        As for NAHBS Patrick. I look forward to checking out the show a bit myself, since it will only be an hour south. Like P Obrien though, I’ll leave the credit card at home. If you like, perhaps we can hook up and I can hopefully show you (and Larry) some of the Queen City’s finer points.

  3. Patrick O'Brien Says:

    Oh Boy, the NAHBS. I wish it was in Phoenix. I would lock all credit cards in the van, and drool all day. Have a ball, even though you must work.

  4. larryatcycleitalia Says:

    I’ve got airtix, lodging and a pass all lined up for NAHBS 2014. While not so happy about the thing being in a hotbed of Repuglicanism, this might (I hope) be one of the final winters I’m stuck in the US of A so I better get there when it doesn’t require a transatlantic flight. I keep missing the POG crew at Interbike, but perhaps we can meet up and share an adult beverage or three in Charlotte? Anybody making bikes with their own two hands (even if they’re made of plastic) is a hero in my book!!

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Larry, the show is a whole lot smaller than I-bike, and it’s just gonna be me and editor Mike Deme wandering around, so we should have a chance to catch up. Where are you staying?

      • larryatcycleitalia Says:

        I’m at the Westin, on the special show/bro deal. If Charlotte’s iced over like it was recently I’ll skip it, but otherwise I’m there. I’ll bring you (and your boss/editor) t-shirts, just gimmee the sizes.

  5. haridasgowra Says:

    Nice pic@

  6. veloben Says:

    I miss Santa Fe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

