Hello, trainer, my old friend. …

Calm down, all you ring-kissers. We don't have a new pope. That's just the furnace working overtime at Chez Dog.

Calm down, all you ring-kissers. We don’t have a new pope. That’s just the furnace working overtime at Chez Dog.

Whoo. Don’t think I’ll be riding the old bikey bike today. Not outdoors, anyway.

It’s 10:30 a.m. and the temperature has yet to creep above zero. In fact, it’s actually dropping. A short bout of snow-shoveling quickly sent me scuttling back indoors to climb into the oven with the broiler turned on. Now there’s a fine smell of sizzling fat in Chez Dog, as though someone were preparing a repast of pork roast wrapped in bacon.

Speaking of food, it seems a fine day to make a giant cauldron of beans in chipotle, whip up some Mexican rice, maybe toast a couple of chicken quesadillas, especially since none of this will require me to leave the house for any reason.

Even the Boo, who ordinarily is a great fan of cold weather, has taken to peeing on the deck rather than wading out into the frozen tundra to do his little bit of business. I’m surprised he hasn’t asked the cats for a loan of the litter box.

18 Responses to “Hello, trainer, my old friend. …”

  1. Larry T. Says:

    Same here, my friend! If this keeps up I might have to drag out the XC ski machine, just for a break from the freakin’ trainer.Three more weeks here to tough it out before we head off to SoCal for a week of cycling in the (we hope) sun.

    • Patrick O'Brien Says:

      You want sun Larry, but if it rains while you are there, tell everyone you brought it with. Probably give you a key to the city!
      Patrick, I just don’t know if I could deal with that anymore. After being a desert rat for 33 years, except for a short 6 month stint in Kentucky, I’m grabbing the old guy cardigan sweater when it falls in the 40’s. The snow we got yesterday is up on Miller Peak where it belongs. I hope we get more though. Man, we are about 2 inches of precip behind schedule. I don’t need another wildfire evacuation to a hotel room 30 miles away. All the ones in town were already full.

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Gents, the temp has been pegged at minus-2 since I posted that post. The beans are simmering on the stove, with the rice on deck. Quesadillas were lunch, so dinner will be one course short.

      But I have a pound of flatiron steak I might use for purposes of internal combustion. Rick Bayless has a recipe for red chile steak in “Mexican Everyday” that might be just the thing.

      • karen Says:

        Making me hungry! Onto that wonderful steak, I would add chopped chunks avocado, chopped mex.papaya, and lime juice squeezed over all, with a jalapeno on the side!

      • Larry T. Says:

        This is good weather – for cooking..as long as you don’t want to grill anything outside. I’m working up a menu for a dinner party soon myself.

  2. Sharon Says:

    Cold here too. We are actually bringing all of the tender Spring seedlings out of the cold frame into the house due to the exceptionally cold nights (for Texas). Bummer to have to do that but being extra cautious. However, the lettuce, spinach, onions, cilantro, broccoli and cauliflower are still going strong and should make it past the 25 degree nights this week. Ready for Spring for sure.

    • Patrick O'Brien Says:

      The snow peas and kale made it through the 31 degree temp last few night night without covering. Lettuce in tiny green house doing OK but growing slowly. Picked the last of the daikon a week ago. We have decided not to plant next year until February. Too much trouble covering and uncovering stock tanks every evening and morning for the small harvest. Soil temperature in above ground tank too cool for good growth. The only thing that thrived in the cold was the daikon.

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Save the edibles! Herself will be growing tomatoes again this year after last year’s spectacular success and I can’t wait.

  3. khal spencer Says:

    20 deg F and spattering snow down here.

  4. Jon Paulos Says:

    Right around freezing here in York PA, with precipitation. This means 6 inches of snow with 1/2″ of ice on top of it. In a geography where “level lot” to the realtors means you don’t have to rope up to go out in the back yard. So nobody went nowhere today. The neighbors are without power and trees are dropping large branches. But that’s not enough for us, no sirree. Leaving tomorrow via auto for Chicago and Milwaukee in time to meet an incoming storm head on.

    • Patrick O'Grady Says:

      Yeech. You know how to have a good time.

      I may have to plan some class of desert getaway here directly if I can only find a window to dive out of. But Bicycle Retailer is back to twice a month now, and I have a review and a video due at month’s end for Adventure Cyclist, and a Subaru Forester will only hold so much gear.

  5. Debby in Longtucky Says:

    -12 here in Boulder County this morning, with 10 inches of snow on the ground. Shoveling has become my new exercise program. I waited until it warmed up to -6 for today’s session. I think my back is getting stronger but I’m, really getting tired of this crap. I actually saw a crazy guy on a bicycle out on the road today though. The temp readout in my Subie read -1. Ugh. Better him than me!

  6. Andy Says:

    Patrick,

    It’s day for rum..like any other day.

  7. Patrick O'Brien Says:

    Just looked at the weather for Bibleburg and it’s currently -1. What happened to your balmy 17 degree forecast? But, warm is supposed to bust out there and here on the weekend. I suppose the trainer got the evil eye again today at Chez Dog. This weather must make getting bike reviews done on time pretty stressful.

    Sauteed up some fresh picked kale, along with red bell peppers and tomatoes for our pasta at lunch. And Larry, once again I did not burn the garlic.

  8. Roland Says:

    I am still mor fat redolent and downright upright than you. (that is c00l young people trendy slang for “more” I tries to edukate) I spend all my vacation playing Diablo 1, world of warcraft, and reading sci fi and biographies and watching youtube libertarian, university lectures, and girl poops her pants ranks. I barely rode at all and only left the house to buy milk, booze, and take the trash out.

    It pays to teach ESL in Asia. Get a life outside of Tex Mex bloating O’Grady! (also please encourage me to bike mor)

    Your Portly Fat guy in the Winter,

    Count Roland

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

